boss by blog

Global Network - Research Cancer Treatment Centers of America in the World | Home

Intestinal cancer stages

.column-left .brightcove-video{ padding-top:0; }

Our doctors use a variety of diagnostic tests to evaluate intestinal cancer and develop an individualized treatment plan. If you have been recently diagnosed, we will review your pathology to confirm you have received the correct diagnosis and staging information and develop a personalized treatment plan. If you have a recurrence, we will perform comprehensive testing and identify a treatment approach tailored to your needs.

Adenocarcinomas are typically staged using the American Joint Committee on Cancer"s TNM system. Some types of cancers like carcinoid tumors do not have a standard staging system. In this case, the spread of the cancer is simply defined as localized, regional or distant. The intestinal cancer stages described here are for the more common adenocarcinomas and are defined using the TNM system.

The combined categories, T, N and M, create the stages 0 through IV:

T (tumor): This describes the size of the original tumor.

N (node): This indicates whether the cancer is present in the lymph nodes.

M (metastasis): This refers to whether cancer has spread to other parts of the body.

Each category (T, N and M) is assessed and rated. An X is used to denote insufficient information (the condition of the particular factor cannot be adequately assessed). Once the category is assigned, the cancer is diagnosed at one of the following stages:

Stage 0: The cancer has not grown beyond the mucosa.

Stage I (stage 1 intestinal cancer): In this stage, the disease has grown beyond the mucosa, but has not spread beyond the small intestine to other sites or lymph nodes.

Stage II (stage 2 intestinal cancer): The cancer has grown into or through the intestinal wall. At this stage, it may or may not have reached nearby organs. There is no evidence of spread of disease to lymph nodes or distant sites.

Stage III (stage 3 intestinal cancer): In stage III of intestinal cancer, the disease has metastasized to nearby lymph nodes. The tumor may be any size (T1 through T4). The cancer may or may not have reached nearby organs. Distant sites like the lung or liver remain unaffected.

Stage IV (stage 4 intestinal cancer): The cancer may be any size and has spread throughout the body to distant sites like the liver, lung or lining of the abdominal cavity.

Next topic: How is intestinal cancer diagnosed?

Address: 99 PhuongTran - DongNai - Vietnam - Email: [email protected] - Phone: 07.818.337.007 - Website: HomePages.Noo
Copyright © 2015 - Noos. All rights reserved