boss by blog

Global Network - Research Cancer Treatment Centers of America in the World | Home

Esophageal cancer stages

.column-left .brightcove-video{ padding-top:0; }

Making an educated esophageal cancer treatment decision begins with determining the stage, or progression, of the disease. The stage of esophageal cancer is one of the most important factors in evaluating treatment options.

Our cancer doctors use a variety of diagnostic tests to evaluate esophageal cancer and develop an individualized treatment plan. If you have been recently diagnosed, we will review your pathology to confirm you have received the correct diagnosis and staging information and develop a personalized treatment plan. If you have a recurrence, we will perform comprehensive testing and identify a treatment approach tailored to your needs.

It’s also important to understand that the stage of your cancer may change. Your care team will let you know if your staging information is affected by the progression, or regression, of your disease.

The stages of esophageal cancer are assigned based on the American Joint Committee on Cancer’s (AJCC) TNM system, a commonly accepted method based on three key components:

T (tumor): This describes the size of the original tumor.

N (node): This indicates whether the cancer is present in the lymph nodes.

M (metastasis): This refers to whether cancer has spread to other parts of the body.

A number (0-4) or the letter X is assigned to each factor. In esophageal cancer staging, as in all cancer staging, a higher number indicates increasing severity. For instance, a T1 score indicates a smaller tumor than a T2 score. The letter X means the information could not be assessed.

Once the T, N and M scores have been assigned, one of these overall stages is assigned:

Stage I (stage 1 esophageal cancer): A stage I esophageal cancer tumor is small (7 cm or less across) and limited to the esophagus.

Stage II (stage 2 esophageal cancer): A stage II esophageal cancer tumor has grown larger but still remains within the esophagus. In this stage of the disease, there is no evidence of spread to lymph nodes or distant sites.

Stage III (stage 3 esophageal cancer): A stage III esophageal cancer tumor has grown beyond the esophagus and may now extend into nearby tissues or organs. The cancer may or may not have spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Stage IV (stage 4 esophageal cancer): A stage IV esophageal cancer tumor may be any size and has grown beyond the esophagus. In this stage of esophageal cancer, the disease may have spread to lymph nodes or distant sites like the liver or abdominal cavity.

Next topic: How is esophageal cancer diagnosed?

Address: 99 PhuongTran - DongNai - Vietnam - Email: [email protected] - Phone: 07.818.337.007 - Website: HomePages.Noo
Copyright © 2015 - Noos. All rights reserved